How to know if one is vegan wine?

If you are vegan or interested in following this lifestyle, you may know that many wines are made with animal products used to clarify and stabilize the wine.

This process aims to remove the “sludge” that results from the winemaking process, adding a protein substance so that the wine is clearer and without a cloudy appearance.

But how do you know if a wine is vegan or not?

To begin with, it is important to understand that a wine is considered vegan when it is produced without the use of ingredients of animal origin.

This includes gelatin, casein derived from milk, isinglass, among others, used in the wine clarification process. Alternatively, plant-based proteins are used, such as pea protein and plant casein.

If you haven’t tried a vegan wine yet, or if you are looking for new options to taste, Julia Kemper Wines offers a selection of vegan and organic wines, produced with hand-picked and sustainably grown grapes on our estate in the Dão Region.

We invite you to get to know our wines and discover the authentic flavors and unique characteristics of each one of them.

Did you like this article? Share it with your friends!

Select a Pickup Point

Scroll to Top